User roles determine which areas of the product your team members can view and edit within your account, such as the ability to create new dashboards, generate reports, or add new custom themes. The following user roles are now be available: Admin, Editor, Reader, and custom roles.
How does a custom role differ from Admin, Editor, and Viewer roles?
Admin, Editor, and Reader are the default roles available in your Chattermill account. You can duplicate them but you cannot edit or change their permissions to specific functionalities.
Custom roles are user roles created by someone within your organisation. You can create your own role and define which functionality permissions that role will have. Once created, you can edit, duplicate or remove the custom role.
Why can’t I edit the Admin, Editor, or Viewer roles?
These user roles are set by Chattermill and cannot be edited - you can duplicate them, make changes and then save them as a new custom role.
Which roles can I duplicate?
Any user role can be duplicated.
How do you apply a role to a user?
You can apply a role to another user either on the Roles page or the Users page.
Users page - select the user you want to assign a role to, click on their current role and choose the new role from the drop-down menu.
Roles page - choose the role you want to apply, click on the “Users” dropdown, and select the user to whom you want to assign the role.
Users can only be assigned ONE role. They will automatically be unassigned from their previous role.
Who can change a user role?
Admin users can change another users roles, equally any user assigned to a custom role that has the right to manage user settings, will be able to change another user’s role.
What are the permissions of the default roles?
Readers can access all feedback, analytics, dashboards, and workflows without editing capabilities. They can receive email and Slack notifications, browse through comments, themes and phrases, and use the search functionality. Readers can also export reports and dashboards to PDF or PNG.
Editors have the same access to the platform as Readers. In addition, they can add tags, create segments, create, duplicate, edit, save or delete reports and dashboards. They don't have access to the user management settings or integrations. Editors cannot add or remove custom themes.
Admins have the same access as Editors. As an Admin, you can set up custom user roles with permissions that fit your user needs. You can create your custom user role by selecting the permissions you'd like to apply to that role.
How can I get custom roles enabled?
If you don’t have custom roles enabled on your account yet, please contact your Customer Success Manager or Account Manager.
Can roles be applied to an individual project?
No, any user role is applied across all projects within a company.